The first documented mention of the village of Kainsbach and the local mill plant goes back to 1312. For almost 650 years, the Kainsbach mill was used to provide the flour for the daily bread in the village.
In 1942 the mill ended its production. In the following years, the mill was used as a temporary accommodation facility for families from Nuremberg who had been bombed out. When the Franconian manufacturer Fritz Collischan bought the mill in 1957 it got transformed into a guest house for his employees. The Building has been welcoming visitors ever since.
In 1973, the Herzog family acquired the estate and built it up to its present size. During these decades, the Kainsbacher Mühle evolved into a successful hotel, which received numerous awards and became well known far beyond the region.
On 1st January 2016 Stephanie and Ron Erras took over the Hotel “Kainsbacher Mühle”. They give the traditional hotel a new face, fresh ideas and a long-term future perspective.
The new concept of the Kainsbacher Mühle is a harmonious combination of the personal hospitality of a privately run individual hotel and the quality and professionalism of decades of hotel industry experience.